History, Language & Culture Singapour

Histoire, langue et culture Singapour

Singapore's history prior to the 14th century is not clearly and precisely recorded. In the 14th century, Singapore was under the rule of Java's Mashapahit Empire. Later in the early 15th century it was under the occupation of the Kingdom of Siam. Until being hijacked by the head of state of Malacca The first country to capture Singapore was Portugal in 1511 and was stolen by the Dutch. When the British expanded their influence over Malaya in the mid-18th century, around 1817 the British competed with the Dutch over colonialism. The British sent Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles to explore the territory of Singapore. At that time, Singapore was still ruled by the Sultan of Johor State. The Raffles agreed with Sultan Hussain Shah to set up a British trading terminal here. But the British eventually seized Singapore as a colony and founded the country in 1819, with the British renting the island of Singapore from the Dutch Empire, which was under Dutch rule. In 1824 England had the right to occupy Singapore accordingly. Later in 1826, Singapore was ruled under the Straits Settlement system, which was governed by the British East India Company. Including Penang and Malacca as well. Later in the year 1857 the British government took over this system itself. In 1867 Singapore became a colony (Crown Colony) completely until the second World War. Japan expelled the British from Singapore and took over instead.


In 1946 it was raised as a separate colonial (Separate Crown colony) when England regained control of Singapore. After Singapore was under Japanese occupation during World War II (1942-1946)


When Singapore saw Malaysia gain its independence from Britain Singapore hurriedly asked to reunite with Malaya to become a Malaya Union immediately. In order to not become a British dependency again But Singapore is very unhappy with Malaysia because of the racism. The People's Affairs Party of Singapore declared Singapore independence since August 9, 1965. Since that time in the name Republic of Singapore After separating, the People's Party has ruled the country until today. There are four official languages of Singapore: English, Malay, Chinese and Tamil, with English being the lingua franca.

Montrer la carte
Montrer la carte
Taux de change   to

  1 =